Bacterial blight

Why? Why?

Poor little Coneflowers looking pretty jacked up. I planted two of them a few weeks ago in my Happy Bed, but now one of them has some sort of rotting brown/yellow sadness on its leaves. Also, some leaves look pretty munched-on. (You know, come to think of it, I don’t know how “happy” this bed really is. It’s been awash in powdery mildew and blight this summer… now this!)

I looked at a lot of pictures online and this looks like a bacterial or fungal disease.  (Scroll down to the second pic of the messed-up Maple leaf.)

As instructed, I removed the affected leaves. (Though I think I took off more than one-third of the plant. Ooops. But I did not want it to spread to the non-diseased plant next to it! Which, it must be said, has not really been producing either, even though I’ve dead-headed it faithfully since watching this little video. C’mon Echinacea. Work with me!)

So sad. You all looked so pretty when I brought you home from the nursery. You were supposed to be my fall color… in a bed long gone green.

About plantkiller

Paysha Rhone is a wife, mother, former-journalist-turned-PR-maven and bad mamajama killing plants in the Victorian splendor of Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Mo' plants, mo' problems, Wallowing in death and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bacterial blight

  1. Heather Cloud Munkacsy says:

    Not the blight! Spray them with milk – even regular ol’ skim milk helps (although breast milk is best – not kidding!). It’s antibacterial and it helps! If you get really serious and don’t want to be all organic about it, there’s also a product called Serenade that is supposed to do wonders.

  2. plantkiller says:

    Thanks Heather, I will squirt ’em! I know… so bummed. 😦

Leave a Reply

