La la lobelia

Guess who's back?

So… I might still be the Cooler. There is ample evidence I am not, uh, naturally gifted in the botanical arts. And yet… I see definite improvement. I have a few new tricks. (Reading, uh, and consulting other gardeners helps, it turns out.)

For instance… I learned that messed-up Lobelia really do like a good haircut. (Thanks GardenWeb forums! [Didn’t that sound like “Dear Penthouse Forum…. you’ll never believe what happened to me…” But I digress.])

Witness the above… the formerly-beautiful, spilling-over Lobelia that went all brown and dried out and horrible some weeks ago. I followed all the advice… soaked it, fed it, butchered it back (further than I meant to). And voila! I have blooms. And unseasonably late, I might crow brag add. Both the white and blue flowers are blooming.  The stems are green and happy. This planter might not be running over wildly, like it was when I made it, but it’s got life again! It is not brown, sticky, or fried-looking with no blooms. Life is good.

In other amazing news, my once comatose begonia is KICKING BUTT. It is not only standing up and blooming, it looks as good as when I bought it. A garden miracle. And now I know where begonias like to live in my yard… and how to fix/avoid wet feet. (Even the wilting “control” begonia from the porch is sporting a few little flowers in its new bed.)

I feel like Thanksgiving… all grateful and stuff.

Mmm mmm mmm

About plantkiller

Paysha Rhone is a wife, mother, former-journalist-turned-PR-maven and bad mamajama killing plants in the Victorian splendor of Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Smells like... success and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

