Please-release-me petunias

If this keeps up, I’m going to need a petunia-love category.

But ahhhhh… witness this tenacious little vine, which managed to grow DOWN the (dark) inside wall of this fairly tall planter, OUT the bottom and into the road. Shooting out pretty purple blooms all the while.

These petunia planters — filled with flourishing red, white and purple flowers — are on an island in the middle of the road near Main Street in my hometown of Fitchburg, Mass. They all have the name of a sponsor painted on them… apparently planted by a local community group to beautify our gritty little town. Thank you, civic-minded gardeners! You make all of our drives and walks more cheerful. And that’s no small thing.

I almost fell out of the car taking this picture, by the way. I drive this road OFTEN (it’s kind of the gateway to downtown and our neighborhood) and this escape artist petunia kept making my head snap. (Pretty plants do that to me.)

I knew I wanted to capture it but I had a logistical challenge. This planter is on a busy road, with traffic that’s almost always moving. But there is a stop light nearby. So I had to wait to get caught at the light in just the right spot to snap it. It took me a few tries, I have some blurry versions and too-far-away views. But I finally landed in the right place. I am sure all the drivers behind me were wondering… “what the ?? is that crazy lady doing?”

Hey, we all have our obsessions. One of mine happens to be plants that thrive against all odds. Fight on!

About plantkiller

Paysha Rhone is a wife, mother, former-journalist-turned-PR-maven and bad mamajama killing plants in the Victorian splendor of Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Tree Grows in Brooklyn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

