Hoes up, plants down

Had to break out the hoe this week. It turns out, the blazing sun may not be the only thing plaguing my new plants. (Especially the aforementioned fried Yarrow and wilting Gay Feather.) Sad confession: I may not have planted them deep enough.

I got some good planting advice over the weekend. The ranting anti-Home Depot local nursery owner told me I should dig my holes twice as deep as the bucket the plants come in and create little wells for them in the ground, whereby water will run down into the plants and seep in, rather than rolling off the little anthills I tend to create. Duh. I’m ashamed to admit, I may not have dug holes deep enough for my new plants out of laziness and expediency. (Hey, that soil was hard and full of weird, stubborn roots! And it was hot out! There’s a reason I’m plantkiller.)

So… I dug deeper holes for the new Verbena and Million Bells. Really hoed the soil and worked it. And they’re still looking good. Fingers crossed. Next, I plan to go back to my Happy Bed and replant the Gay Feather and Yarrow in much deeper holes, then give them some plant food and water… and repeat, repeat, repeat. I hope they make it.

Speaking of garden tools… for a good laugh, check out this really excellent hoe collection, chronicled lovingly by Indiana garden blogger Carol on May Dreams Gardens. She’s really into them. I love passionate people.

My fave: “Three Old Hoes.” Like this too: “Push Hoe – When You Are Tired of Pulling.”

It’s hard out there for a hoe.

About plantkiller

Paysha Rhone is a wife, mother, former-journalist-turned-PR-maven and bad mamajama killing plants in the Victorian splendor of Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Keep hope alive, Mo' plants, mo' problems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

