Destiny’s kale

Beyonce

Meet the Beyonce of kale!

I was wondering a month ago who was alive under all that snow… what gruesome green creature might emerge.

And here we have it: Destiny’s kale.

She’s a survivor! She’s not goin’ give up!

Destiny's Child

I have a lot to tell about the garden right now. About rich, moist, poison-free soil and dozens of wee kale plants (went a little kale-crazy at the farm stand). About lettuce and seed trays and sun and shade. And a little boy making mud pits with the hose and looking for worms. It’s going to be an awesome, veggie-filled summer, I can feel it! My first.

But for now, I’ll just honor this lone surviving kale plant from last year’s ridiculous late, late planting experiment. I truly can’t believe anything could survive under all those feet of relentless snow last winter. And spring up, looking just as good as all of its fresh-from-the-greenhouse neighbors.

I put a commemorative stake by her, so she doesn’t get lost in the shuffle this summer.

Looks like I’ll eat something I planted last fall yet!

Alone again... naturally

Alone again… naturally

About plantkiller

Paysha Rhone is a wife, mother, former-journalist-turned-PR-maven and bad mamajama killing plants in the Victorian splendor of Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Keep hope alive, Smells like... success, This just in and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Destiny’s kale

  1. Heather says:

    Aw, I love your little survivor! I have two tiny spinach tufts that lived through the winter (out of two whole beds planted! ha!). Can’t wait to hear about your veggie filled summer! Last frost date is this upcoming Saturday! Woot!

Leave a Reply

