A little re-leaf… please!

Ba da bump.

Uggghhhh… guess what I did this weekend? Yep. This is just one of about six mammoth piles of leaves I raked up and carted to the “compost” pile. (Compost is in quotes because I just throw a bunch of shit in a pile and think it will magically someday turn into something good for the garden. I am pretty sure I’m supposed to be turning it and such. But that’s just not making the list these days.)

You know how you think you’re in great shape until you do something really different? Like, uh, actual hard work? My upper back is still feeling it, as are the backs of my thighs. (Thank you, wheelbarrow and hilly yard.) And that was just the front yard. Not even addressing the back and side yards yet.

I wasn’t planning to rake this early. I figured I’d just let it all fall and do it once. But when I looked out the window Saturday morning, my entire yard and the street in front of it, and my front steps, were literally buried in horse chestnut leaves. (Yes, this is the same tree that rains intense crap all year long, from dangerous, dive-bombing chestnuts to some weird yellow powdery droppings to giant branches. Love you, horse chestnut!)

But I figured it would rain soon, and then I would just be one mailman-wipeout away from a major lawsuit. So out I went with the rake and broom and wheelbarrow. It took many hours. The toddler jumping in the piles did not help. (But what Grinch can deny a kid a giant leaf pile? Mean mommy had to chill for at least a few runs.)

And I have no doubt it will look exactly the same a week from now. Oh, fall…

In other news, some friends in my garden have gone to the Great Beyond. As my leaf-scattering son reported this weekend, “Mommy, I have something to tell you. Some of your plants have died. But other people are still alive.” (Yes, Mitt, just like corporations, plants are people are too!)

The beans are out…

The squash is living up to its name…

But the kale and peas are hanging tough. As my gardening guru friend Heather said, “Go veggies, go!”

If I eat one thing I planted this year, I will consider that a major success. Here at Plantkiller, the bar is looooooowwwwwww.

About plantkiller

Paysha Rhone is a wife, mother, former-journalist-turned-PR-maven and bad mamajama killing plants in the Victorian splendor of Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Hateful plants, Smells like... success, Wallowing in death and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little re-leaf… please!

  1. Heather says:

    “But other people are still alive.” Awwww.
    I’m guessing horse chestnuts aren’t the type you can roast over an open fire while Jack Frost nips at your nose? If by chance they are – you should get all festive with your horse chestnuts to make up for all the nastiness the tree caused the rest of the year. That’s what I say.

  2. plantkiller says:

    That’s an idea, I don’t know if you can eat them — I should find out! That tree really does need to give back!

Leave a Reply

