It ain’t over til’ everything’s dead!

So, remember those seeds trays I was fussing with a few weeks ago?

Well… some of them actually turned into plants, so I threw them into the big, poison-free garden patch. Kale, cabbage, carrots, beans, cucumber, onion, peas, beets, swiss chard and squash. Oh yes, and the aforementioned slightly embarrassing cantaloupe. (My favorite garden adviser laughed at me. “You’re a dreamer,” she said. Yes, it’s true. But hey, I had the seeds!)

I figured, why not? It’s all an experiment this fall, so whatever grows, grows. If nothing else, I’ll be ready for next spring, having learned the whole growing-from-seed process. I would love to eat one of these plants, though! That would be a major milestone, eating something I grew from a seed.

Luckily, our recent cold night didn’t kill everything. (The veggies have the coleus beat!) So I got out there this weekend and weeded and cleaned the leaves out and some of these characters are definitely looking hopeful and healthy.

The kale is pretty happy, and everyone says that’s a cold weather veggie that can survive into early winter. We are using a lot of that for juicing these days, so I planted a whole row.

The beans, peas and squash are also looking pretty decent.

I don’t think the cucumber’s going to amount to anything, though. It’s looking limp and yellow. Oh well!

About plantkiller

Paysha Rhone is a wife, mother, former-journalist-turned-PR-maven and bad mamajama killing plants in the Victorian splendor of Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
This entry was posted in Keep hope alive and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It ain’t over til’ everything’s dead!

  1. Nicole says:

    Did you honest-to-gosh plant a garden in OCTOBER??? I am laughing to tears. And I know it’s not because you’re lacking for things to do.

  2. plantkiller says:

    Hahaha, seriously! No, I planted it probably a month to six weeks ago, though. I was sad I didn’t get anything going over the summer, what with trying to figure out the poison and all… and Ed pulling those giant metal rebar stakes out of the ground. It was crazy. And then I read stuff online that said, hey, fall gardening can happen. Certain veggies, like kale, can be planted again in late summer (which I stretched, of course) and harvested. So… I went kinda crazy and planted all the seeds in my collection. I figured, meh? See what happens! It’s been fun to do and watch. The seed trays were really cool. Gave me a little more confidence, which has been an issue!

  3. Heather says:

    Go veggies, go!

Leave a Reply

